Child Care Centers, Family Child Care & Preschools in ZIP 23701 (Portsmouth, VA)
For ZIP 23701 (Portsmouth, VA), the latest data shows 39 listed providers: 25 child care centers, 8 family child care homes, 1 preschools, 4 head start programs, 1 child care providers.
Browse: Virginia · Portsmouth City County · all care in Portsmouth
More ZIP coverage in Portsmouth
Provider listings in ZIP 23701
ZIP 23701 at a glance
This ZIP-level profile spans 39 listed care providers in ZIP 23701; 0 of them report a quality rating (0%). No provider in this ZIP carries a published overall star rating in the current data, so comparison here rests on inspection, staffing, and quality details. 38 of these providers report 2,176 licensed child care spaces in total.
| Providers on record | 39 |
|---|---|
| With a published overall rating | None published |
| Average overall rating | Not published |
| Highest-rated provider | Not published |
| Ownership mix | Not reported |
| Licensed capacity (total) | 2,176 |
Choosing care in ZIP 23701
The strongest comparisons weigh several signals together - licensing record, ratios and group sizes, caregiver experience, and the particular hours and services a family needs. No single measure captures all of that, and nothing replaces a visit.
When you are choosing care in ZIP 23701, Portsmouth, VA, visit in person if you can, ask about current openings and waitlists, and get tuition, hours, and holiday schedules in writing. Also ask how the program handles sick days, late pickups, and concerns that come up during the day.
Care types in ZIP 23701
Provider-level state licensing data
| Provider | Care type | Overall | Ownership | Licensed capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AlphaBEST @ Hodges Manor Elementary | Child Care Center | Not rated | Not reported | 75 |
| AlphaBEST @ Lakeview Elementary | Child Care Center | Not rated | Not reported | 75 |
| AlphaBEST @ Simonsdale Elementary | Child Care Center | Not rated | Not reported | 75 |
| AlphaBEST @ Victory Elementary | Child Care Center | Not rated | Not reported | 75 |
| Anderia Knight | Family Child Care Home | Not rated | Not reported | — |
| Babysteps Child Development Center Too, LLC | Child Care Center | Not rated | Not reported | 39 |
| Blessed Christian Homeschool and Tutoring | Child Care Center | Not rated | Not reported | 34 |
| Cavalier Manor Center | Head Start Program | Not rated | Not reported | 78 |
| Criss Cross Campus, LLC | Child Care Center | Not rated | Not reported | 170 |
| Eagles Nest Learning Academy | Child Care Center | Not rated | Not reported | 41 |
| Heavenly Hearts Learning Academy | Child Care Center | Not rated | Not reported | 33 |
| HRCAP Cavalier Manor | Child Care Center | Not rated | Not reported | 99 |
| Hrcap Jfk | Child Care Center | Not rated | Not reported | 40 |
| HRCAP Portsmouth Head Start | Head Start Program | Not rated | Not reported | 114 |
| Janet Ward | Family Child Care Home | Not rated | Not reported | 10 |
| Jenita Holland | Family Child Care Home | Not rated | Not reported | 12 |
| JFK Center | Head Start Program | Not rated | Not reported | 35 |
| Jump?n Jellybeans Daycare and Learning Center, LLC | Child Care Center | Not rated | Not reported | 39 |
| Jump'n Jellybeans Daycare and Learning Center, LLC | Child Care Center | Not rated | Not reported | 19 |
| JumpStart Child Development Center II | Child Care Center | Not rated | Not reported | 84 |
| LaToya Wade | Family Child Care Home | Not rated | Not reported | 12 |
| Laugh N? Learn Daycare LLC | Child Care Center | Not rated | Not reported | 15 |
| Little Sunshine 2 Academy | Child Care Center | Not rated | Not reported | 150 |
| Lutricia Brown | Child Care Provider | Not rated | Not reported | 4 |
| Mary Almy | Family Child Care Home | Not rated | Not reported | 12 |
Frequently asked questions
Where does this information come from?
Which care provider in ZIP 23701 has the highest quality rating?
How many providers in ZIP 23701 have a published rating?
What types of care are available in ZIP 23701?
What is the average quality rating in ZIP 23701?
Data & methodology
Every figure on this page is drawn from public state licensing datasets including state child care licensing records and registries (processing date 2026-10-07). See the methodology page for normalization details. This page is provided for general information only.
Required disclosures
For general information only. This website shares public data and general information about child care providers. It does not offer professional advice, and it cannot replace a visit to a provider, a review of public licensing records, or a conversation with the people you trust.
Independent and unaffiliated. DaycareFacilities.org is a private, independently run directory. It is not affiliated with, nor endorsed or operated by, any government agency, child care licensing authority, or child care provider. Government agencies have not reviewed or endorsed this site.
Confirm details before acting. Provider records come from public datasets and may lag or contain errors. Always verify current licensing status, hours, availability, capacity, and costs directly with the provider and with your state or territory licensing agency.
Certain outbound links on this site are partner or affiliate links. If you use them we may receive a commission, and your price does not change. This never influences the data we publish.