Head Start Programs in ZIP 95116 (San Jose, CA)

The current data lists 4 federally funded head start programs that serve ZIP 95116 in San Jose, CA.

Advertisement

Browse: all head start programs · California · Head Start Programs in San Jose · all care in ZIP 95116

Head Start and Early Head Start are federally funded programs that combine early education with nutrition, developmental screening, and family support. Programs are generally free for eligible families and prioritize children from low-income households, children in foster care, and children with disabilities.

Side-by-side provider data

ProviderCare typeOverallOwnershipLicensed capacity
McKinley (SS) (FD)Head Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported77
Mckinley State Preschool/Head StartHead Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported144
San Antonio (SS) (FD)Head Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported40
San Antonio Head StartHead Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported40

Nearby ZIP codes with head start programs

ZIP 95110Head Start ProgramsZIP 95111Head Start ProgramsZIP 95112Head Start ProgramsZIP 95121Head Start ProgramsZIP 95122Head Start ProgramsZIP 95127Head Start ProgramsZIP 95131Head Start ProgramsZIP 95132Head Start ProgramsZIP 95136Head Start Programs

State licensing data for ZIP 95116

The current data counts 4 head start programss in ZIP 95116; 0 (0%) publish a quality rating. No provider in this ZIP carries a published overall star rating in the current data, so comparison here rests on inspection, staffing, and quality details. 4 of these providers report 301 licensed child care spaces in total.

Providers on record4
With a published overall ratingNone published
Average overall ratingNot published
Highest-rated providerNot published
Ownership mixNot reported
Licensed capacity (total)301
Advertisement

Head Start Programs on record in ZIP 95116

Head Start Program McKinley (SS) (FD) San Jose, CA 95116 Capacity 77 Head Start Program Mckinley State Preschool/Head Start San Jose, CA 95116 Capacity 144 Head Start Program San Antonio (SS) (FD) San Jose, CA 95116 Capacity 40 Head Start Program San Antonio Head Start San Jose, CA 95116 Capacity 40
Advertisement

What to weigh in ZIP 95116

A practical first step is to check licensing status and inspection history, since that is the backbone of what is publicly known about a program. Then look at the things licensing does not measure - group sizes, caregiver consistency, and how the daily rhythm actually feels to your family.

For families in ZIP 95116, San Jose, CA, the key questions are availability and waitlists, tuition and fees, hours of operation, and how caregivers communicate with parents each day. A visit plus direct questions remains the surest way to judge whether a program fits.

Frequently asked questions

Where does this information come from?
All figures come from public state datasets (state child care licensing records and registries; processing date 2026-10-07). Verify current details with the provider before making care decisions.
How many licensed child care spaces are reported in ZIP 95116?
301 licensed child care spaces are reported across 4 providers in ZIP 95116. Licensed capacity is published for child care centers; other provider types do not report it.
Which head start program in ZIP 95116 has the highest quality rating?
No head start program in ZIP 95116 has a published quality rating in the current state licensing data.
How do I choose a head start program in ZIP 95116?
To compare Head Start programs, confirm eligibility and application steps, and ask about hours, transportation, meals, and how the program coordinates with services your family already uses. Local programs can differ in schedules and offerings.
What other ZIP codes near San Jose have head start programs?
Head Start Programs are also listed in 9 neighboring ZIP codes in San Jose. Use the cards on this page to open each ZIP directory.
How many head start programs are in ZIP 95116?
The current data lists 4 federally funded head start programs with a mailing address in ZIP 95116 (San Jose, CA).

About the data

Data source: public state licensing datasets including state child care licensing records and registries (processing date 2026-10-07). See the methodology page for normalization details. This page is provided for general information only.

Advertisement

Required disclosures

For general information only. This website shares public data and general information about child care providers. It does not offer professional advice, and it cannot replace a visit to a provider, a review of public licensing records, or a conversation with the people you trust.

Independent and unaffiliated. DaycareFacilities.org is a private, independently run directory. It is not affiliated with, nor endorsed or operated by, any government agency, child care licensing authority, or child care provider. Government agencies have not reviewed or endorsed this site.

Confirm details before acting. Provider records come from public datasets and may lag or contain errors. Always verify current licensing status, hours, availability, capacity, and costs directly with the provider and with your state or territory licensing agency.

Certain outbound links on this site are partner or affiliate links. If you use them we may receive a commission, and your price does not change. This never influences the data we publish.