Head Start Programs in ZIP 49783 (Sault Sainte Marie, MI)

There are 7 federally funded head start programs in ZIP 49783, Sault Sainte Marie, MI, within this data release.

Advertisement

Browse: all head start programs · Michigan · Head Start Programs in Sault Sainte Marie · all care in ZIP 49783

Head Start and Early Head Start are federally funded programs that combine early education with nutrition, developmental screening, and family support. Programs are generally free for eligible families and prioritize children from low-income households, children in foster care, and children with disabilities.

Choosing among head start programs in ZIP 49783

The strongest comparisons weigh several signals together - licensing record, ratios and group sizes, caregiver experience, and the particular hours and services a family needs. No single measure captures all of that, and nothing replaces a visit.

When you are choosing care in ZIP 49783, Sault Sainte Marie, MI, visit in person if you can, ask about current openings and waitlists, and get tuition, hours, and holiday schedules in writing. Also ask how the program handles sick days, late pickups, and concerns that come up during the day.

State measures by provider

ProviderCare typeOverallOwnershipLicensed capacity
Algonquin Head StartHead Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported20
ALGONQUIN HEAD STARTHead Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported14
Child Care CollaborationHead Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported18
First Years Infant/Toddler CenterHead Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported24
Sault Center (HS & EHS)Head Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported16
Sault Head StartHead Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported60
SAULT HEAD STARTHead Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported48
Advertisement

Listed head start programs in ZIP 49783

Head Start Program Algonquin Head Start Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783 Capacity 20 Head Start Program Algonquin Head Start Sault Sainte Marie, MI 49783 Capacity 14 Head Start Program Child Care Collaboration Sault Sainte Marie, MI 49783 Capacity 18 Head Start Program First Years Infant/Toddler Center Sault Sainte Marie, MI 49783 Capacity 24 Head Start Program Sault Center (HS & EHS) Sault Sainte Marie, MI 49783 Capacity 16 Head Start Program Sault Head Start MI 49783 Capacity 60 Head Start Program Sault Head Start Sault Sainte Marie, MI 49783 Capacity 48

Data profile for ZIP 49783

The current data covers the 7 providers with a mailing address in ZIP 49783: 0 (0%) carry a published state quality rating. No provider in this ZIP carries a published overall star rating in the current data, so comparison here rests on inspection, staffing, and quality details. 7 of these providers report 200 licensed child care spaces in total.

Providers on record7
With a published overall ratingNone published
Average overall ratingNot published
Highest-rated providerNot published
Ownership mixNot reported
Licensed capacity (total)200
Advertisement

Frequently asked questions

Where does this information come from?
All figures come from public state datasets (state child care licensing records and registries; processing date 2026-10-07). Verify current details with the provider before making care decisions.
How many head start programs in ZIP 49783 have a published rating?
None of the head start programs currently listed in ZIP 49783 have a published state quality rating in this data.
Who owns the head start programs in ZIP 49783?
Ownership is not reported for the head start programs currently listed in ZIP 49783.
Which head start program in ZIP 49783 has the highest quality rating?
No head start program in ZIP 49783 has a published quality rating in the current state licensing data.
How many licensed child care spaces are reported in ZIP 49783?
200 licensed child care spaces are reported across 7 providers in ZIP 49783. Licensed capacity is published for child care centers; other provider types do not report it.
How do I choose a head start program in ZIP 49783?
To compare Head Start programs, confirm eligibility and application steps, and ask about hours, transportation, meals, and how the program coordinates with services your family already uses. Local programs can differ in schedules and offerings.

Data sources

Data source: public state licensing datasets including state child care licensing records and registries (processing date 2026-10-07). See the methodology page for normalization details. This page is provided for general information only.

Advertisement

Required disclosures

For general information only. This website shares public data and general information about child care providers. It does not offer professional advice, and it cannot replace a visit to a provider, a review of public licensing records, or a conversation with the people you trust.

Independent and unaffiliated. DaycareFacilities.org is a private, independently run directory. It is not affiliated with, nor endorsed or operated by, any government agency, child care licensing authority, or child care provider. Government agencies have not reviewed or endorsed this site.

Confirm details before acting. Provider records come from public datasets and may lag or contain errors. Always verify current licensing status, hours, availability, capacity, and costs directly with the provider and with your state or territory licensing agency.

Certain outbound links on this site are partner or affiliate links. If you use them we may receive a commission, and your price does not change. This never influences the data we publish.