Head Start Programs in ZIP 34972 (Okeechobee, FL)

Within Okeechobee, FL, ZIP 34972 has 4 federally funded head start programs on record.

Advertisement

Browse: all head start programs · Florida · Head Start Programs in Okeechobee · all care in ZIP 34972

Head Start and Early Head Start are federally funded programs that combine early education with nutrition, developmental screening, and family support. Programs are generally free for eligible families and prioritize children from low-income households, children in foster care, and children with disabilities.

All head start programs in ZIP 34972

Head Start Program FLDSER Okeechobee 1 MSHS Okeechobee, FL 34972 Capacity 92 Head Start Program FLDSER Okeechobee 2 MSHS Okeechobee, FL 34972 Capacity 56 Head Start Program Northside Head Start Okeechobee, FL 34972 Capacity 93 Head Start Program Seminole Head Start Okeechobee, FL 34972 Capacity 18

Provider-level state licensing data

ProviderCare typeOverallOwnershipLicensed capacity
FLDSER Okeechobee 1 MSHSHead Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported92
FLDSER Okeechobee 2 MSHSHead Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported56
Northside Head StartHead Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported93
Seminole Head StartHead Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported18
Advertisement

Comparing head start programs in ZIP 34972

Treat any single record as a starting point, not a verdict. Child care quality lives in the details: staff-to-child ratios, caregiver training and turnover, how the space is kept, and whether the program's schedule and approach fit your family's needs.

For families in ZIP 34972, Okeechobee, FL, the key questions are availability and waitlists, tuition and fees, hours of operation, and how caregivers communicate with parents each day. A visit plus direct questions remains the surest way to judge whether a program fits.

ZIP 34972 at a glance

This ZIP-level profile spans 4 listed head start programss in ZIP 34972; 0 of them report a quality rating (0%). No provider in this ZIP carries a published overall star rating in the current data, so comparison here rests on inspection, staffing, and quality details. 4 of these providers report 259 licensed child care spaces in total.

Providers on record4
With a published overall ratingNone published
Average overall ratingNot published
Highest-rated providerNot published
Ownership mixNot reported
Licensed capacity (total)259
Advertisement

Frequently asked questions

Where does this information come from?
All figures come from public state datasets (state child care licensing records and registries; processing date 2026-10-07). Verify current details with the provider before making care decisions.
What other ZIP codes near Okeechobee have head start programs?
This care type is not listed in any other ZIP code in Okeechobee in the current data.
Who owns the head start programs in ZIP 34972?
Ownership is not reported for the head start programs currently listed in ZIP 34972.
How many head start programs are in ZIP 34972?
The current data lists 4 federally funded head start programs with a mailing address in ZIP 34972 (Okeechobee, FL).
How many licensed child care spaces are reported in ZIP 34972?
259 licensed child care spaces are reported across 4 providers in ZIP 34972. Licensed capacity is published for child care centers; other provider types do not report it.
How do I choose a head start program in ZIP 34972?
To compare Head Start programs, confirm eligibility and application steps, and ask about hours, transportation, meals, and how the program coordinates with services your family already uses. Local programs can differ in schedules and offerings.

Data & methodology

Every figure on this page is drawn from public state licensing datasets including state child care licensing records and registries (processing date 2026-10-07). See the methodology page for normalization details. This page is provided for general information only.

Advertisement

Required disclosures

For general information only. This website shares public data and general information about child care providers. It does not offer professional advice, and it cannot replace a visit to a provider, a review of public licensing records, or a conversation with the people you trust.

Independent and unaffiliated. DaycareFacilities.org is a private, independently run directory. It is not affiliated with, nor endorsed or operated by, any government agency, child care licensing authority, or child care provider. Government agencies have not reviewed or endorsed this site.

Confirm details before acting. Provider records come from public datasets and may lag or contain errors. Always verify current licensing status, hours, availability, capacity, and costs directly with the provider and with your state or territory licensing agency.

Certain outbound links on this site are partner or affiliate links. If you use them we may receive a commission, and your price does not change. This never influences the data we publish.