Head Start Programs in ZIP 28806 (Asheville, NC)
Public data maps 5 federally funded head start programs to ZIP 28806 in Asheville, NC.
Browse: all head start programs · North Carolina · Head Start Programs in Asheville · all care in ZIP 28806
Head Start and Early Head Start are federally funded programs that combine early education with nutrition, developmental screening, and family support. Programs are generally free for eligible families and prioritize children from low-income households, children in foster care, and children with disabilities.
Head Start Programs data comparison
| Provider | Care type | Overall | Ownership | Licensed capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACS: Hall Fletcher Elementary | Head Start Program | Not rated | Not reported | 12 |
| ACS: Lucy S Herring Elementary | Head Start Program | Not rated | Not reported | 10 |
| Johnston Elementary Head Start | Head Start Program | Not rated | Not reported | 36 |
| Sand Hill-Venable Elementary Head Start | Head Start Program | Not rated | Not reported | 18 |
| Verner Central | Head Start Program | Not rated | Not reported | 114 |
Head Start Programs elsewhere in Asheville
Head Start Programs profiles in ZIP 28806
How to compare head start programs in ZIP 28806
A practical first step is to check licensing status and inspection history, since that is the backbone of what is publicly known about a program. Then look at the things licensing does not measure - group sizes, caregiver consistency, and how the daily rhythm actually feels to your family.
For families in ZIP 28806, Asheville, NC, the key questions are availability and waitlists, tuition and fees, hours of operation, and how caregivers communicate with parents each day. A visit plus direct questions remains the surest way to judge whether a program fits.
What state licensing data shows for head start programs in ZIP 28806
Among the 5 head start programss listed in ZIP 28806, 0 (0%) have a published quality rating in the current data. No provider in this ZIP carries a published overall star rating in the current data, so comparison here rests on inspection, staffing, and quality details. 5 of these providers report 190 licensed child care spaces in total.
| Providers on record | 5 |
|---|---|
| With a published overall rating | None published |
| Average overall rating | Not published |
| Highest-rated provider | Not published |
| Ownership mix | Not reported |
| Licensed capacity (total) | 190 |
Frequently asked questions
Where does this information come from?
Which head start program in ZIP 28806 has the highest quality rating?
What other ZIP codes near Asheville have head start programs?
How do I choose a head start program in ZIP 28806?
How many head start programs in ZIP 28806 have a published rating?
What is the average quality rating for head start programs in ZIP 28806?
Where this data comes from
Every figure on this page is drawn from public state licensing datasets including state child care licensing records and registries (processing date 2026-10-07). See the methodology page for normalization details. This page is provided for general information only.
Required disclosures
For general information only. This website shares public data and general information about child care providers. It does not offer professional advice, and it cannot replace a visit to a provider, a review of public licensing records, or a conversation with the people you trust.
Independent and unaffiliated. DaycareFacilities.org is a private, independently run directory. It is not affiliated with, nor endorsed or operated by, any government agency, child care licensing authority, or child care provider. Government agencies have not reviewed or endorsed this site.
Confirm details before acting. Provider records come from public datasets and may lag or contain errors. Always verify current licensing status, hours, availability, capacity, and costs directly with the provider and with your state or territory licensing agency.
Certain outbound links on this site are partner or affiliate links. If you use them we may receive a commission, and your price does not change. This never influences the data we publish.