Head Start Programs in ZIP 26241 (Elkins, WV)

4 federally funded head start programs operate in ZIP 26241, Elkins, WV, per the current data.

Advertisement

Browse: all head start programs · West Virginia · Head Start Programs in Elkins · all care in ZIP 26241

Head Start and Early Head Start are federally funded programs that combine early education with nutrition, developmental screening, and family support. Programs are generally free for eligible families and prioritize children from low-income households, children in foster care, and children with disabilities.

Choosing among head start programs in ZIP 26241

A practical first step is to check licensing status and inspection history, since that is the backbone of what is publicly known about a program. Then look at the things licensing does not measure - group sizes, caregiver consistency, and how the daily rhythm actually feels to your family.

Where you can, visit each option in ZIP 26241, Elkins, WV, watch how caregivers interact with children, ask how daily updates and pickups are handled, and get costs and schedules confirmed in writing. Steady, engaged caregivers count for as much as any published record.

Listed head start programs in ZIP 26241

Head Start Program Jennings Randolph Pre-K I & II Elkins, WV 26241 Capacity 12 Head Start Program Midland Pre-School I Elkins, WV 26241 Capacity 12 Head Start Program Randolph County Early Head Start I & II Elkins, WV 26241 Capacity 9 Head Start Program Third Ward Pre-School I & II Elkins, WV 26241 Capacity 20
Advertisement

State measures by provider

ProviderCare typeOverallOwnershipLicensed capacity
Jennings Randolph Pre-K I & IIHead Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported12
Midland Pre-School IHead Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported12
Randolph County Early Head Start I & IIHead Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported9
Third Ward Pre-School I & IIHead Start ProgramNot ratedNot reported20

Data profile for ZIP 26241

The current data covers the 4 providers with a mailing address in ZIP 26241: 0 (0%) carry a published state quality rating. No provider in this ZIP carries a published overall star rating in the current data, so comparison here rests on inspection, staffing, and quality details. 4 of these providers report 53 licensed child care spaces in total.

Providers on record4
With a published overall ratingNone published
Average overall ratingNot published
Highest-rated providerNot published
Ownership mixNot reported
Licensed capacity (total)53
Advertisement

Frequently asked questions

How do I choose a head start program in ZIP 26241?
To compare Head Start programs, confirm eligibility and application steps, and ask about hours, transportation, meals, and how the program coordinates with services your family already uses. Local programs can differ in schedules and offerings.
Who owns the head start programs in ZIP 26241?
Ownership is not reported for the head start programs currently listed in ZIP 26241.
What is the average quality rating for head start programs in ZIP 26241?
The state does not publish quality ratings for the head start programs currently listed in ZIP 26241. Inspection and quality information is still available for each provider.
How many licensed child care spaces are reported in ZIP 26241?
53 licensed child care spaces are reported across 4 providers in ZIP 26241. Licensed capacity is published for child care centers; other provider types do not report it.
Where does this information come from?
All figures come from public state datasets (state child care licensing records and registries; processing date 2026-10-07). Verify current details with the provider before making care decisions.
What other ZIP codes near Elkins have head start programs?
This care type is not listed in any other ZIP code in Elkins in the current data.

Data sources

Data source: public state licensing datasets including state child care licensing records and registries (processing date 2026-10-07). See the methodology page for normalization details. This page is provided for general information only.

Advertisement

Required disclosures

For general information only. This website shares public data and general information about child care providers. It does not offer professional advice, and it cannot replace a visit to a provider, a review of public licensing records, or a conversation with the people you trust.

Independent and unaffiliated. DaycareFacilities.org is a private, independently run directory. It is not affiliated with, nor endorsed or operated by, any government agency, child care licensing authority, or child care provider. Government agencies have not reviewed or endorsed this site.

Confirm details before acting. Provider records come from public datasets and may lag or contain errors. Always verify current licensing status, hours, availability, capacity, and costs directly with the provider and with your state or territory licensing agency.

Certain outbound links on this site are partner or affiliate links. If you use them we may receive a commission, and your price does not change. This never influences the data we publish.